Tags

,

maggie2

I knew I wanted to be a writer when I was in college, but the aspiration really started when I was little, making up stories in the backyard making mud pies.

After college, I wanted to be a part of a writing family. I didn’t find this family until SCBWI came along.

I work as an emergency room clerk. Sometimes my job is stressful but I always find the time to write.

I use to write suspense stories along the lines of Mary Higgins Clark. But I found my voice along with my inner child and began writing children’s picture books.

I am a co-editor of Kite Tales.

In the summer of 2012, there was a call for an editor of Kite Tales. I don’t know what came over me as I have no prior editorial experience, but I applied and landed the position. While I was excited, I was also terrified as I saw the editorial duties. I was relieved when the position changed to co-editor and would have help now.

Being a co-editor for Kite Tales has been so rewarding. First, my self-confidence was boosted because with this position there is no room to be shy. Second, I have formed so many great friendships along the way.

Volunteering for Kite Tales has opened my eyes to many different styles of writing. To read the talent and their aspirations only inspires me to go after my own.

I don’t know if you want to call what I have to say pearls of wisdom. As a writer, keep your eyes and ears opened to new possibilities and listen to other writers. You may find unexpected inspiration there. Self-doubt will come. Just believe in yourself.

I have two books, The Ketchup Bottle and the Takeover and Isabella and Penelope on Amazon. My new book, David and Rusty’s Pirate Adventure, will be available soon.

