Tags

, , , ,

And the winner is . . . Beth Navarro!

25310994154_cd845b9c5b_m

Beth Navarro, Sally Jones Rogan, and Sarah Laurenson

At this year’s Writer’s Day, Sally Jones Rogan, LA’s Regional Advisor, presented the 2016 Sue Alexander Service and Encouragement Award. Here are her words:

“The Sue Alexander Service and Encouragement Award is presented to a regional volunteer who has shown exceptional dedication to SCBWI Los Angeles.

The Region is completely volunteer run, from the LitMingle coordinators to the website guru, to the Regional coordinators, and everyone in between who makes up our successful organization of more than 1,300 members.

This year, it was particularly hard to choose from the nominees, but the votes are in.

This year’s volunteer has always been a pleasure to work with. Nothing was ever too much trouble and she never lost patience when she had to hound us for information and keep us to publishing schedules.

During her five-year service as co-editor, along with Maggie Grinnell, Beth was instrumental in taking the Kite Tales Magazine from newsletter to blog format. She also took on the mammoth task of moving Kite Tales from the Tri-regions website to the new LA Region pages.

Her dedication extended to helping train two editorial interns to ensure she was leaving Kite Tales in capable hands, and somewhere along the way, she found the time to get published and married—but I’m not sure in which order these life-changing events took place!

If you haven’t already guessed, the SASE for the year 2015 goes to Beth Navarro. Congratulations, Beth!”

Beth responded with this acceptance speech:

25314969293_acd13d1c39_m

Beth Navarro

“I am beyond honored to be receiving this award. The previous winners I respect so much and, to be in their company, I am humbled. SCBWI changed my life. When I walked into my first Writer’s Day I knew I had found my tribe. And when the opportunity came to become one of the co-editors of Kite Tales I jumped at the chance. I knew, for one, this would force me to stop being a wallflower and get out there and meet people. That’s exactly what happened. I’m proud of what Maggie and I did with Kite Tales. I hope our community felt supported through it. I know the new editors will bring it to even greater heights. As much as I try to give back to SCBWI, it’s always given so much more to me. Thank you.”

 

Congratulations, Beth Navarro!

